When is E3 2019? Full schedule, UK timetable for Nintendo, Ubisoft and Square Enix and game announcement trailers

The Electronic Entertainment Expo or E3 for short, is annually the biggest gaming date on the calendar.

While there will once again be dozens of major announcements, this year’s will be a bit different – Sony is simply not turning up.

Despite releasing a statement on the existence of the PS5 and how it will have the backwards compatibility that players desperately wanted it will not be using E3 as a platform to crank up the excitement.

Even without Sony, there is enough gaming excitement to go round and another game which will likely take lots of headlines again in 2019 is CD Projekt Red’s Cyberpunk 2077.

Other big titles will be The Last of Us 2 and Hideo Kojima’s Death Stranding, a game where details have been drip fed to the public for years and is expected (update: IT IS ACTUALLY LAUNCHING IN NOVEMBER) to launch in November.

On Monday there will be conferences from Ubisoft who will unveil Watch Dogs 3 and Square Enix who will give us a first look at its Avengers title.

 

When is E3 2019

E3 2019 will take place from June 11-13 2019 at the Los Angeles Convention Center in Downtown LA.

Where is E3 2019?

E3 2019 will take place at the Los Angeles Convention Center, where the event is held most years.

It has on some occasions been held elsewhere.

The 1997 and 1998 E3 conventions were held at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta, Georgia.

Ubisoft at E3

On Monday evening it is Ubisoft’s time to take to the stage at E3 2019 where the company will announce updates to your favorite games, such as Ghost Recon Breakpoint, The Division 2, and For Honor. Expect a few surprises too, one in the form of Watch Dogs 3.

The Ubisoft conference is at 8pm BST on Monday June 10.

Square Enix at E3

It’s a big conference for Square Enix as it plans to reveal more of the long-awaited Final Fantasy 7 remake and the much anticipated Marvel’s Avengers title.

Square Enix will also likely show off titles announced during previous streams and conferences, like Oninaki from Tokyo RPG Factory, Babylon’s Fall from PlatinumGames, and Dying Light 2 from Techland.

The Square Enix press conference is at 2 am BST on Tuesday morrning.

Nintendo at E3

Nintendo will be in attendance at E3 and the creative pioneers will once again be hosting a special Nintendo Direct E3 livestream rather than holding a live press conference. Last year the comp0any officially revealed Super Smash Bros. Ultimate and this year there will likely be more details on Pokemon Sword and Shield and the long-awaited Luigi’s Mansion 3.

The Nintendo Switch has made a name for itself for boasting a catalogue of much-love third party games including L.A. Noire, Dark Souls and AC III.

Time: YouTube at 12pm ET/9am PT/5pm BST on Tuesday, June 11

Microsoft at E3

Sony being absent from E3 this year gives Microsoft a real chance to steal the show and that’s exactly what the company needs after the PS4 has comfortably and consistently outsold the Xbox One.

With the knowledge of the PS5 now out there, Microsoft can use E3 as a platform to ramp up the excitement for Xbox One’s successor.

The next Xbox console is still titled Project Scarlett and is confirmed to be released at Christmas 2020.

The new device will be four times more powerful than the Xbox One X and powered by an AMD chip. Microsoft said the new console will be able to offer frame rates up to 120 frames per second, or twice the average TV.

“A console should be built and optimized for one thing and one thing only: Gaming,” Xbox head Phil Spencer said during the company’s presentation.

Keynote time: Sunday, June 9 at 1pm PST/ 4pm EST/ and 9pm BST

Bethesda at E3

As expected there was no update on Elder Scrolls 6, so, for now all we still know is that the game exists and absolutely nothing else.

Things which were confirmed were a Doom Eternal release date (November 22) a Fallout 76 Battle Royale mode (of course) and a new Elder Scrolls game called Blades coming to Nintendo Switch.

For those more into horror and a fan of Bethesda’s The Evil Within and its sequel (both developed by Tango Gameworks) then forthcoming title Ghostwire Tokyo could be the one for you. Shinji Mikami and Ikumi Nakamura from Tango Gameworks mentioned this latest effort was less of a survival horror game and maybe more paranormal.

Games to watch out for at E3 2019

Cyberpunk 2077

The bad news off the bat is that the game will once again not be playable. Projekt Red has confirmed that those visiting the booth will be able to see it in action.

CD Projekt’s president and CEO Adam Kicińsk previously described E3 2019 as “the most important one ever”, promising that the developers have “really prepared a strong show”.

On Sunday night the game got a release date – April 16 2020, and a new trailer showed us that actual Keanu Reeves will be in the game.

Watch Dogs 3

It’s fair to say the original Watch Dogs wasn’t the game everyone wanted. To counter this, 2016’s Watch Dogs 2 was a gloriously colourful affair set against the backdrop of San Francisco. If the rumours and leaks are to be believed (and with Ubisfot they usually are) it looks as if Watch Dogs 3 will be set a lot closer to home – in London. Rumours suggest that the game will arrive in Q4 and will get a full blow-out at E3 in June.

The Ubisoft conference is at 8pm BST on Monday June 10.

Star Wars-Jedi: Fallen Order

During Microsoft’s Xbox press conference–the first of many E3 livestreams scheduled to air over the next week–the company revealed a new trailer for Star Wars-Jedi: Fallen Order. Those hoping that despite the long-awaited Star Wars RPG being cancelled that this new title might be similar will have been left disappointed. Fallen order is essentially The Force Unleashed reskinned for the current generation of consoles.

Fallen Order focuses on the adventure of a Jedi Padawan named Cal Kestis, who escaped Order 66 and now lives as a fugitive salvager. His peaceful life comes to an abrupt end when he’s discovered, though, and he has to go on the run.

Harry Potter

Late last year a trailer for a harry Potter game appeared online. It could have been fake, simply a mod for another title, but Warner Bros removed it sharpishly. Understandably, this created suspicion. The trailer showed a playable fifth-year Hogwarts student who was customisable and very much looked like a proper RPG type game. Will it get an official reveal this year? Hopefully.

Death Stranding

It finally has a date. At the end of May we got a release date (November 8) in a 9 minute trailer and as expected it will be a PS4 exclusive. The trailer was mainly gameplay but it still gave little insight to the narrative. There will be more details at E3.

Marvel’s Avengers

It’s been confirmed for some time but other than that there’s been nothing expect a teaser trailer that showed nothing. Square Enix, the studio behind the game has confirmed its title and that there will be a worldwide reveal at the event.

The Square Enix live event is at 6PM PT on June 10 which is 2am here.

Full E3 timetable 2019

  • UploadVR – Monday, June 10 – 9 a.m. PT/5 p.m. BST

  • PC Gaming Show – Monday, June 10 – 10 a.m. PT/6 p.m. BST

  • Ubisoft – Monday, June 10 – 1 p.m. PT/9 p.m. BST

  • Square Enix – Monday June 10 – 6 p.m. PT/2 a.m. BST (Tuesday)

  • Nintendo – Tuesday, June 11 – 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/5 p.m. BST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

Get Started support
close slider